13th International Alvar Aalto Symposium

7.–9.8.2015 Jyväskylä, Finland

The Alvar Aalto Symposium is an international forum for discussion on contemporary architecture. It is a triennial event that brings professionals from around the world together to engage in current topics in architecture.

This year the theme is DO! Instead of listening to project presentations, we dive into the world of doing and open up the process of creating architecture from the perspectives of LOCAL, SOCIAL, DIGITAL and MATERIAL.

DO! Alvar Aalto Symposium_Program_2015 (PDF)


FRIDAY, 7 August 2015

Venue: Jyväskylä City Theatre (Vapaudenkatu 36, Jyväskylä)

Opening of the Symposium

15.00–15.15     Päivi Hovi-Wasastjerna, Chair of the Alvar Aalto Foundation, Finland

                           Timo Koivisto, Mayor of the City of Jyväskylä

15.15–15.30     Anssi Lassila, OOPEAA, Finland, Chairman of the Symposium


Moderator David Basulto, Archdaily, Chile

15.30–16.00     Mikko Heikkinen, Heikkinen-Komonen Architects, Finland

16.00–16.30     Rahul Mehrotra, RMA Architects, India

16.30–17.00     Bolle Tham and Martin Videgård, Tham&Videgård Arkitekter, Sweden

17.00–17.30     Raul Pantaleo, TAM Associati, Italy

17.30–18.00     Coffee break

18.00–19.00    KEYNOTE Xiaodu Liu, Urbanus, China


20.00–22.00     Alvar Aalto Symposium Reception by the City of Jyväskylä (Lutakko, Lutakonaukio 3, Jyväskylä)


SATURDAY, 8 August 2015

Venue: Jyväskylä City Theatre (Vapaudenkatu 36, Jyväskylä)


Moderator Juulia Kauste, Museum of Finnish Architecture, Finland

9.30–10.30      KEYNOTE Henriette Vamberg, Gehl Architects, Denmark

10.30–11.00     Mikko Summanen, K2S Architects, Finland

11.00–11.30     Carin Smuts, Carin Smuts Architects, South Africa

11.30–12.00     Geir Brendeland and Olav Kristoffersen, Brendeland & Kristoffersen, Norway

12.00–13.30     Lunch break


Moderator Marco Steinberg, Snowcone, Finland

13.30–14.30     KEYNOTE Greg Lynn, Greg Lynn FORM, USA

14.30–15.00     Marc Jay and Julie Schmidt-Nielsen, WE Architecture, Denmark

15.00–15.30     Eero Lundén, Lundén Architecture, Finland

15.30–16.00     Lisa Iwamoto, IWAMOTOSCOTT Architecture, USA

16.00–16.30     Coffee break


Moderator Ole Bouman, Shekou Design Museum, China

16.30–17.00     Patrick Thurston, Architecture Office Patrick Thurston, Switzerland

17.00–17.30     Kari Virtanen, Nikari, Finland

17.30–18.00     Matti Sanaksenaho, Sanaksenaho Architects, Finland

18.00–19.00    KEYNOTE Marcelo Ferraz, Brasil Arquitetura, Brazil 


20.30–22.00     Reception at the Alvar Aalto Museum (Alvar Aallon katu 7, Jyväskylä)


SUNDAY, 9 August 2015

Venue: Jyväskylä City Theatre (Vapaudenkatu 36, Jyväskylä)

Moderator David Basulto, Chile


11.00–11.30    KEYNOTE Xiaodu Liu, Urbanus, China

11.30–13.00     Brunch / panel discussion

Ole Bouman, Marcelo Ferraz, Juulia Kauste, Anssi Lassila, Tommi Lind, Greg Lynn, Marco Steinberg, Henriette Vamberg, Liu Xiaodu

13.00–13.30     Closing of the Symposium

                          Anssi Lassila, OOPEAA, Chairman of the Symposium, Finland


Organisers reserve the right to alter the program.



Greg Lynn, USA

Henriette Vamberg, Denmark

Xiaodu Liu, China

Marcelo Ferraz, Brazil



Geir Brendeland and Olav Kristoffersen, Norway

Mikko Heikkinen, Finland

Lisa Iwamoto, USA

Marc Jay and Julie Schmidt-Nielsen, Denmark

Eero Lundén, Finland

Rahul Mehrotra, India

Raul Pantaleo, Italy

Matti Sanaksenaho, Finland

Carin Smuts, South Africa

Mikko Summanen, Finland

Bolle Tham and Martin Videgård, Sweden

Patrick Thurston, Switzerland

Kari Virtanen, Finland

kusadasi escort escort kusadasi